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FORTY-ONE CONVENIENCE STORES CHARGED WITH SELLING TO MINORS 
Liquor Authority Underage Decoy Detail Targets 124 Western NY Locations 

 
 

 Albany, NY – The New York State Liquor Authority (SLA) today charged forty-one 
licensed convenience stores with selling alcohol to minors. In the largest SLA underage sting 
ever conducted, SLA Investigators, working with underage volunteer decoys, targeted 124 
establishments in Western New York.  The decoys were able to purchase alcohol at 41 licensed 
premises in Buffalo, Niagara Falls, and Rochester, the largest single underage operation ever 
conducted by the SLA.        
 

At several locations, no proof of ID was requested.  At other locations, the decoys were 
asked to provide their birth dates or to provide IDs. In all instances, decoys provided their actual 
birth dates, indicating they are under 21.  Notably, 83 convenience store clerks and licensees 
refused to sell to the decoys.        
 

“The State Liquor Authority is committed to cracking down on underage sales,” said SLA 
Chairman Dennis Rosen.  “These details will continue, and licensees must understand when 
they sell to minors, they are putting their license and livelihood in jeopardy.”   
 

Licensees charged with underage sales face civil penalties of up to $10,000 per violation, 
with fines starting at $2,500 for a first time offense.  Repeat offenders also face possible 
suspension or revocation of their licenses.  In addition, employees or licensees who sell to 
minors can be arrested and charged with a misdemeanor.   The SLA underage detail was 
conducted on June 16 and 17, 2011.   

 
 
 
 



 

 
 
 

The 41 businesses charged with sales to minors are: 
 

Buffalo: 
 
B-Brite Market  
905 Clinton Street 
 
Superior Food King  
1084 Clinton Street 
 
Clinton Express  
1270 Clinton Street 
 
City Line 1 Grocery, Inc. 
860 Walden Avenue 
 
Walden Mini Mart  
243 Walden Avenue 
 
Super Market Express Mart, Inc. 
143 Walden Avenue 
 
Almin Liquors  
1361 Sycamore Street 
 
Myheeb’s Deli  
2289 Fillmore Avenue 
 
Zip’s Food & Beverage Shoppe  
896 Niagara Street 
 
City Candy Grocery  
544 Fargo Avenue 
 
Island Mini Mart  
232 W. Ferry Street 
 
Boo & Bee (d/b/a) 
591 Fargo Avenue 
 
Swan Food Market  
357 Swan Street 
 
Bailey Mini Market 
1245 Bailey Avenue 
 



 

 
 
Baria Deli  
160 Doat Street 
 
The Island Food Mart  
1635 Genesee Street 
 
Corner Store  
1733 Genesee Street 
 
Speedy Market  
1799 Genesee Street 
 
Bailey Market  
2997 Bailey Avenue, Unit #3 
 
Schreck Grocery  
2594 Bailey Avenue 
 
Walden Convenient Store  
599 Walden Avenue 
 
M & N Mini Mart  
2360 Bailey Avenue 
 
Community Food & Meat Market  
533 Walden Avenue 
 
Holly Farm Market II  
281 E. Delavan Avenue 
 
Broadway Market  
1069 Broadway 
 
Buffalo Mini Mart  
1291 Broadway 
 
Od’s Food Mart  
 882 Northland Avenue 
 
Black Rock Food Center  
442 Amherst Street 
 
Niagara Falls: 
 
Bridgeway Market  
1104 Niagara Street 
 



 

BG Citgo Mart  
700 Main Street 
 
Ashiq & Shabbir Ghug, Inc. 
1911 Ferry Street 
 
Merry Mart  
336 19th Street 
 
Mario’s Novelty  
2304 Pine Avenue 
 
Stop One Food Mart  
1055 Cleveland Avenue 
 
Karan & Anna, LLC 
2221 Hyde Park Boulevard 
 
 Walgreens  
1202 Pine Avenue 
 
Wilson Farms (#354)  
2824 Pine Avenue 
 
Sunoco APlus  
8505 Niagara Falls Boulevard 
 
Rodeway Inn 
492 Main Street 
 
Rochester: 
 
Northwest Mini Mart (d/b/a) 
2042 Dewey Avenue 
 
Everyday Convenience, Inc. 
1416 Culver Road 
 
 

The SLA regulates and controls the manufacture, sale and distribution of alcoholic 
beverages within the state.  The Authority works with local law enforcement agencies and 
localities across the State to ensure compliance with the Alcoholic Beverage Control Law.  In 
addition, the Authority issues and renews licenses and permits to manufacturers, distributors, 
wholesalers and retailers of alcoholic beverages. 

 
On the web 

www.abc.state.ny.us 
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BACKGROUND 
STATE LIQUOR AUTHORITY DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS  

 
An investigation by the New York State Liquor Authority may include: (a) on-site inspections of a licensed 
establishment; (b) on-site undercover investigations by SLA Investigators and other law enforcement agencies; (c) 
a review of reports and investigations by other law enforcement and regulatory agencies; and (d) interviewing 
potential witnesses/complainants and collecting evidence of potential violations. 
 
Information obtained is reviewed to determine if there is sufficient evidence to bring administrative charges against 
a licensee.  A disciplinary proceeding is commenced by the issuance of a Notice of Pleading setting forth the 
alleged violations.  The licensee may enter one of the following pleas; (1) Not Guilty; (2) No Contest; or (3) 
Conditional No Contest.  If the licensee fails to respond, the matter is treated as a No Contest plea. 
 
If a licensee pleads not guilty, a hearing date is scheduled with an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ).  At the hearing, 
the SLA and the licensee may produce witnesses, cross-examine witnesses and submit evidence in support of their 
case.  Findings are made by the ALJ and presented to the Members of the Authority.  Again, the ALJ's findings are 
not final, only the Members of the Authority may make a final determination. 
 
• If the licensee pleads No Contest, the case is sent directly to the Members of the Authority for final 

determination of the appropriate penalty. 
 

• If the licensee submits a conditional no contest plea, the licensee's offer is forwarded to the Members of the 
Authority for final determination.  If the offer is rejected by the Members, the matter is returned to Counsel's 
Office to schedule an administrative hearing. 

 
• Each case brought to the Members of the Authority is examined on its individual merits.  If a disciplinary charge 



 

is sustained, the Members of the Authority may impose one or more of the following: 
 
o License suspension, cancellation or revocation [ABCL § 17(3)]; 
o A monetary penalty, up to $10,000 per violation[ABCL § 17(3)]; 
o A bond forfeiture [ABCL § 112 and 9 NYCRR 81(3)]; 
o A two-year ban against the issuance of a license to any part of the building containing the        revoked 

licensed premises [ABCL § 113(1)]. 
o In addition, if the Members of the Authority find the actions of a licensee are a threat to the public 

health, safety, or welfare, they may vote for an Immediate Summary Suspension of the license.   
 
 

Disciplinary Penalty Definitions 
 

• Summary Suspension - under the State Administrative Procedure Act, a State agency is 
authorized to summarily suspend a license when the agency finds that public health, safety, 
or welfare imperatively requires emergency action.  

• Revocation - terminates the license and bans the licensee from holding any liquor license for 
two years.  

• Cancellation - terminates the license, but does not ban the licensee from applying for a 
license for two years.  

• Suspension - prohibits consumption or sale of alcoholic beverages for a designated period.  
• Civil penalty - monetary fine that may be levied against the licensee with or as an 

alternative to a revocation, cancellation, or suspension.  
• Bond Claim - a claim made against the licensees surety bond.  
• Proscription - prohibits the issuance of a liquor license for any part of the licensed premises 

for two years. Can only be issued when a license is revoked.  

 

 
 


